Skip to main content Adam Avenir

The five stages of cognitive dissonance

An idea is introduced. Legitimate questions and objections are voiced. What follows are the five stages of cognitive dissonance:

  1. Defensiveness (and subsequent embarrassment over defensiveness)
  2. Internal consideration of original counterpoint
  3. Recognition of validity
  4. Shame
  5. Admission of wrong and reconciliation

Or, at least–upon reflection–that’s apparently how I do it.